Aerial Photos of Devon Energy Tower and Downtown OKC (Oklahoma City Commercial Photographer)

Recently I had the incredible opportunity to take aerial photographs of downtown Oklahoma City, including the Devon Energy Tower and Oklahoma State Capitol. To license or buy prints of any of these images, please contact me at holly@hollybaumannphotography.com.

The Devon Tower was designed by the brilliant architects at Pickard Chilton and is truly awe-inspiring. This project was personally meaningful to me and my husband because we moved to OKC in 2010 because of the Devon Tower construction. Nathan works for the general contractor, Holder Construction, that is building the tower in joint venture with Oklahoma-based contractor FlintCo.

I have Tony Benear to thank for this opportunity. Tony is married to my friend Missy who works at Keystone Adventure School and Farm. Tony and Missy are Grant‘s parents. Tony bought the flight at auction during Keystone’s fall fundraiser, then invited me to come along to take photos.

Charles Amis was our pilot. Charlie is a weekend warrior pilot, flying for pleasure. He generously donated his time, fuel, and airplane to this project. Thank you, Charlie!

Oklahoma City is undergoing a major transformation. I can’t wait to see this place in 1, 5, 20 years!

The rotunda lobby, part of the larger podium, has a glass roof, providing a dizzying view all the way to the top of the 52 story tower. The lobby is open to the public and features a delicious cafe, Nebu, that is also open to the public. OKC residents should check it out! It’s worth the trip.

Nathan and I have enjoyed life here in OKC. And, although our time here is short since the tower is almost complete, I know that someday, Nathan and I will be driving by on I-40 on a long road trip with our annoyed children and point at the tower and say “Your daddy helped build that.” Pretty cool, right? I am very proud of Nathan and all of his co-workers. 🙂

– HBA

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Architecture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Aerial Photos of Devon Energy Tower and Downtown OKC (Oklahoma City Commercial Photographer)

  1. Tara says:

    Holly – GREAT pictures! I work for Devon in Houston and havent seen the new building in person yet. Your photos show how awesome it has turned out. THANK YOU!

    Like

  2. I’m thinking, “Ya done good”! I’m also thinking, don’t stop now… keep it up.

    Like

  3. CE says:

    Hello Holly, I just dropped you an email. Please check it asap! =)

    Like

  4. Noah Mead says:

    Nice photographs. Here in Nashville we were to have the 1057 foot Signature Tower. Now glad we don’t. Seeing the Devon Energy Tower shows me how out of place, and somewhat ridiculous, towers that size can look in a medium size city like OK City or Nashville. That tower sticks out and does nothing for the human scale architecture below. Three 300 foot towers would have gone a long way in filling in dead space and surface parking lots. Shows what my $4.00 a gallon pays for! Enjoy the giant monolith while you can, until OK City gets sick of it.

    Like

    • Noah – interesting perspective – thanks for your comments. It IS pretty amazing (is that the word?) in this economy that there is an oil and gas company with enough cash to build a tower like this. The locals, however, are for the most part extremely proud of this building and it’s generated a total renovation of the street scape in downtown OKC. We’ll see what happens in the next few decades and whether the tower still sticks out like a sore thumb after 20 years! Who knows. I will be long gone by then…we are off to build the next project soon (a one-level data center…quite the difference!) in another state so we will be leaving it in our rearview mirror soon. Thx again – Holly

      Like

  5. Wonderful photos !

    Like

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?