HGTV’s Showhouse Showdown Part 1: Behind-the-Scenes / Before-After Images (OKC Architectural Photographer)

Last year, I had the great opportunity of shooting a two-day architectural, portrait, and documentary photography assignment for HGTV! The network filmed an episode of “Showhouse Showdown” in Edmond, OK. The embargo period for those images expired, so I can finally share these images!

You may remember the host of this show, Bob Guiney, as the runner-up on the Bachelorette with Trista, and later, from his own starring role as the Bachelor! My headshot of Bob still appears on HGTV’s website, along with many of the interiors shown below.

The two designers competing on this episode of Showhouse Showdown were Oklahoma’s own Deema Ramadan of Design+Build Group LLC, and DeLisa Oakes of Studio 6 Interiors. The homes were built by Home Creations, which specializes in starter homes in the OKC community. Here are Deema, Bob, and DeLisa.

The day definitely included sweat, good-natured competition, and stress for the designers, but also laughter!

The designers each created designs for 5 rooms in each house: kitchen, dining, living room, master bedroom, and a nursery/child’s room. Each designer’s style was totally unique and the designs were so innovative!

Part of my job was to capture the “before” and “during” design details of each room during the frenzied one-day installation. I returned on a later day to shoot the “after” images, once filming was complete and the winner had been chosen.

Below, you can review images of each room. (Where possible, I’ve included some “before” details, but I can’t show anything that can be construed as behind-the-scenes per my agreement with HGTV, which excludes many images including crew and set details.) Remember, the design installations were completed in two days. These guys worked hard! And fast!

Which designer do you think won?

DeLisa's Kitchen: Before

DeLisa's Kitchen: After

Deema's Kitchen: Before

Deema's Kitchen: After

DeLisa's Living Room: After

Deema's Living Room: After

DeLisa's Dining Room: After

Deema's Dining Room: After

DeLisa's Master Bedroom: After

Deema's Master Bedroom: After

DeLisa's Nursery: After

Deema's Nursery: Before

Deema's Nursery: After

This job was a total blast! Thanks for the opportunity all, and congratulations to DeLisa for winning the design contest! If interested, you may still view the entire episode filmed in Edmond!

Happy designing!

– HBA

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Architecture, Before and After Images, People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?