Bloomington, IL Center for Integrated Wellness: Exteriors (Architectural Photographer)

After finishing the interiors of the new Center for Integrated Wellness, I returned another evening and morning to photograph the exterior. Due to the size of the property and it’s orientation to the sun at sunset and sunrise, both evening and early morning shoots were required for the best results. The exterior cladding is made of mixed materials, but they are mostly monotone (grey) and highly reflective, which presented both challenges and opportunities.

Here is the main entrance, which glowed warmly at sunset:

20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscente20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscenter-21

This vantage point of the main entrance (rear left) includes the private entrance for MCO customers (near right).

20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscente20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscenter-22

The property is a single level and sprawls widely, which made it difficult to capture the entire building without making an image comprised almost entirely of sky and parking lot. This view shows the main entrance (left), mixed/contrasting materials (middle), and the MCO entrance to right.

20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscente20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscenter-23

All that highly reflective glass came afire at sunset, and I was blessed with a beautiful array of color to offset that monotone exterior.

20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscente20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscenter-20

Originally we planned to do the exteriors in the spring, once landscaping was totally finished. But the owners accelerated their landscaping timeline and added grass to the areas immediately in front of the building, and asked me to shoot the exteriors immediately. Of course, I was happy to oblige!

20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscente20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscenter-19

MCO has a separate entrance in the rear of the facility for MRI customers. I captured this image of that entrance the following morning in the warm early light just before the sun came over the horizon.

20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscente20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscenter-25

Here’s the view of Method Sports Performance’s space, also in the morning. I did some pretty serious bush-whacking at 6:00 am through summer weeds to get this shot. Behind the garage style window is the sprint turf track (lower level) and the indoor running track (upper level) you saw in my interiors post. To the far right is the pool area. It was a bit windy so I had some foreground blur, but because I am vertically challenged and didn’t have a lift, this was the best we could do!

20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscente20160914_blogpost_farnsworth_wellnesscenter-24

Thank you, again, so very much, to Farnsworth for the opportunity to make images of this amazing new facility! It was an honor.

-HBA

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Architecture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bloomington, IL Center for Integrated Wellness: Exteriors (Architectural Photographer)

  1. Pingback: Center for Integrated Wellness – Published Images (Bloomington, IL Architectural photographer)

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

