Industrial Setting – Family Portraits in Holland, Michigan (Central Illinois Photographer)

A couple weeks ago, my family and I spent a glorious weekend in one of my favorite places in the US: Holland, Michigan, which is one of many cute beach towns in along the west side of Lake Michigan. (If you aren’t familiar with the area, add it to your bucket list and cross it off next time you are near Chicago!)

One of my best friends from college, Kate, lives in Holland with her gorgeous family.

20150731_BlogPost_BoltPortraits-5

Kate has had a huge influence on my life. She helped me cultivate an appreciation for art(ists) and writing; she is a gifted hostess, full of grace, and a patient and devoted mother. Kate and I have so many memories beyond college including traveling Great Britain and the Nederlands together and being in each other’s weddings. Kate was at my bedside along with other mutual friends during my bedrest with Rawley. I could go on. She means the world to me and it’s so fun to be closer now and watch our kids grow together.

I was happy to make some family portraits for them while we were there, in between lots of yummy food, playtime for the kids, a trip to the beach, and some good local brews.

We wandered down the street from their historic home to nearby Washington Elementary School. The brick school ceased operations in 2005, and is soon to be redeveloped (possibly as condos). The setting provided lots of industrial elements and interesting architectural lines as a backdrop for their portraits.

Meet Jack, Vivian, and Willem:

20150731_BlogPost_BoltPortraits-1As you can imagine, this was a rather kinetic shoot, and some of the outtakes were too good to destroy:

20150731_BlogPost_BoltPortraits-2The kids all delightfully different from one another and each uniquely entertaining. Jack looks just like his dad and is already a talented violinist; Willem has his mom’s brown eyes and is a California soul; Vivian is a blonde Kate, and tough in the way you’d expect a girl to be with two older brothers. (She effortlessly hauled a SUP paddle, barefoot, from the beach parking lot to the beach, about a 1/4 mile and long flight of stairs away.)

20150731_BlogPost_BoltPortraits-4Kate and Dan are such good parents and friends. So thankful for them, and for such a great weekend! And, thanks for the opportunity to make these portraits for you! xoxo

-HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in People. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

