New Client Mailers (Marketing Ideas for Photographers)

It’s been a long time since my last major photography marketing push, and now that we’ve settled in one place for a while, it was time to invest in another big outreach effort. Here was my process:

  • Throughout this summer and fall, I started compiling a list of local and regional businesses. I wanted to target 4 types of potential clients: first and foremost, architects, followed by corporate portrait clients, event planners, and finally, editors.
  • I selected my best work in each category, some new, some old. When making selections, I considered the best compositions, my best work in Photoshop, best lighting, interiors, exteriors, people, tear sheets, and impactful-ness. I also selected images with enough space around the main subject to allow for text and design flexibility.
  • I used the same designer, Kendra, that did our great Christmas cards.
  • I combined the client mailers below with my 2014 Christmas Card, both to add a personal touch and also to conserve resources.
  • I didn’t send all of the designs to everyone on my list; I targeted the mailing according to the type of work I’d like to do for each recipient.

See below for more details and ideas!

Architecture Portfolio

Mailed To: Architects, PR Firms, Ad Agencies, Local Venues, Historical Organizations

Kendra completed two designs for me with the architecture theme, and I couldn’t decide which I liked better, so I printed both of them. I ordered more of these than any other design below, because architecture is the main focus of my work, and my preferred subject matter. Here are the fronts of the two designs:

ArchitectureMailer1

Design Credit: Kendra Bull / Pretty Little Notes

ArchitectureMailer2

Design Credit: Kendra Bull / Pretty Little Notes

On the back of each, I added a full bleed photo with no design or text. On the first, I used an exterior image from the custom home in Bloomington I shot for Steve Kibler, and on the latter, an interior from my shoot for OKW Architects at Land of Lincoln Credit Union.

Event Photography

Mailed To: Local Venues, Non-profits, Restaurant Groups, PR Firms

Although my main revenue source is from shooting architecture and some commercial portraiture, shooting events (corporate / non-profit events, not weddings) is a nice secondary revenue stream. Events are relatively straightforward to shoot, usually requiring relatively few hours both on-location and in post, and therefore, low-maintenance and low-stress in comparison to other types of commercial photography. However, landing major event jobs requires versatile skills, plus creditability based on prior experience (i.e. the client has to trust you, because they only get one shot at getting good photos of their event).

Given those considerations, I selected images that featured 1) both action and stills; 2) recognizable local brands, and 3) large events.

EventFront

Design Credit: Kendra Bull / Pretty Little Notes

EventBack

Design Credit: Kendra Bull / Pretty Little Notes

Corporate Portraiture

Mailed To:  Ad Agencies, Local Businesses, PR Firms

For this mailer, I wanted to show that I can make portraits with off camera light, and that my portrait work has been published.

PortraitMailerFront

Design Credit: Kendra Bull / Pretty Little Notes

PortraitMailerBack

Design Credit: Kendra Bull / Pretty Little Notes

Product Photography

Mailed To: Editors, Architects

This mailer was designed specifically with the goal of getting a story about the design and construction of our table published in an industry magazine. However, it will also be generally useful with local designers, because this region has so much Arts and Crafts architecture.

Design Credit: Kendra Bull / Pretty Little Notes

Design Credit: Kendra Bull / Pretty Little Notes

Design Credit: Kendra Bull / Pretty Little Notes

Design Credit: Kendra Bull / Pretty Little Notes

Thoughts? Critiques? What tips can you share?

– HBA

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Marketing Ideas, Portfolio and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

