Group Portrait of Howard and Howard “Super Lawyers” for Thompson Reuters (Peoria Photographer)

20131114_BlogPost_HowardandHoward_SuperLawyers-1

Recently, I was commissioned by Thompson Reuters’ Super Lawyers to make a group portrait of successful and rising star attorneys at Howard and Howard‘s Peoria, IL office.

Neither the time slot nor the location was flexible. Knowing a group of attorneys wouldn’t have much time for a portrait session, I arrived very early to allow plenty of time for trouble-shooting, which proved vital for this job. After considering a few camera angles, making a series of tests shots, extensive staging and rearranging, and planning a few poses, I managed to find the {only} shot that worked. Challenges included harsh full sun, floor-to-ceiling windows, direct and unavoidable sunlight bathing the entire (very small) room, a myriad of distracting elements in the background, and window reflections.

Lighting only with a SB900 Speedlight inside of an 24×24 Interfit Softbox on an almost fully-extended Cheetah stand (camera right), we shot several poses in about 20 minutes. I made sure to leave enough room around the main subject for editorial cropping. I even got a few sillies before I lost them to their busy days:

20131114_BlogPost_HowardandHoward_SuperLawyers-2

Here is the published ad:

Super Lawyers, a Thompson Reuters publication, January 2014 issue (top image copyright Holly Baumann Photography)

Super Lawyers, a Thompson Reuters publication, January 2014 issue (top image copyright Holly Baumann Photography)

Thank you all for the opportunity! It was a pleasure!

-HBA

P.S. I’ve previously made portraits for other attorneys, Gilling Legal Group and Kellie Sanford Law.

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in People, Shooting and Editing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

