Arches National Park (Bloomington-Normal, IL Photographer)

When Nathan, Rawley, Eiger, Chappelle and I moved from Cheyenne to Phoenix (before we moved to Illinois – confused yet? So am I), we made a worthwhile pit stop in Moab, Utah. We rested up, ate and drank at Moab Brewery, and enjoyed a sunny, sparkling, chilly afternoon roaming Arches National Park.

20130324_BlogPost_ArchesNationalPark-2

Most photographers tour Arches at sunrise or sunset. And admittedly, I was a little bummed that this wasn’t an option for me. But in retrospect, I am actually glad I shot mid-day; doing so made my images a bit more distinct than the predictable shot of a sunburst behind the notorious Double Arch at the golden hour. It also tested my skills a bit more as a photographer.

20130324_BlogPost_ArchesNationalPark-5Another advantage of shooting in full sun: no need for a tripod. Which helps when running and gunning while a baby naps in the car…

20130324_BlogPost_ArchesNationalPark-7

One of the most pleasant surprises for us about the Moab region was discovering the snow-capped mountain range to the southeast of Arches. The Utah landscape is truly magnificent, even more than we knew or expected.

20130324_BlogPost_ArchesNationalPark-6

Thanks to Nathan, we have proof that I was there, too: the rare shot of me in front of the camera (with Eiger). I shot that day with my Rolleicord, as well (pictured below) and hope to share some of those images in a future post.

20130324_BlogPost_ArchesNationalPark-3

If you’ve never been to Moab, I hope you’ll make it someday! It is now on my Favorite Places list. I’d go back in a heartbeat! We didn’t even make it into Canyonlands…speaking of which, if you’ve been to either Park, and have any shots you’d like to share, post your links in the comments below. I’d love to see them.

20130324_BlogPost_ArchesNationalPark-1

I am so happy to finally share these images…I’ve gotten a bit behind on things, since we’ve moved three times in the past year, while we also had a baby, sold a house, planned an enormous birthday party, and tried to focus on protecting and raising our little miracle man. But things are getting more normal around here, so hopefully you’ll be seeing more of me on this blog in the coming months. Thanks for hanging in there with me through the slow season!

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Stock, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

