Nursery Theme Ideas: Camping, Mountains, and Travel (Part 2)

Since Rawley’s nursery is going to be packed up into boxes again next week, I realized I better post camping- and travel- themed nursery ideas, Part 2! We want our little man to love the mountains as much as we do, and have an open mind and desire to see as much of the world as he can. So we created a nursery celebrating the outdoors and travel. Additonally, I tried to use items we already owned as much as possible to save money. I also avoided “babyish” decor so that we can continue using the same items into Rawley’s childhood years – or repurpose them for other rooms in the house.

I was surprised how challenging it was to find products with this theme, so I am hoping that this post will make it a bit easier for others!

201304_Family_Nursery-1

  • Vintage National Park Posters:  Nathan gave me these for Christmas before Rawley was born, and I had them framed at Michael’s in a faux stainless steel finish to match the stainless steel frames mentioned below.
  • Retro Globe:  I adore this globe, which I’ve owned for years; I found it at an antique store along Phoenix’s 7th Ave. vintage corridor. The map dates back to the USSR era.
  • Antelope Canyon and Swiss Alps Prints:  These are from my 35mm and Medium Format film photography portfolio. The Antelope Canyon images are some of my best-selling; Nathan and I honeymooned in Switzerland.

201304_Family_Nursery-2

  • Trail Sign Canvas:  Taken in Havasupai Canyon, a lesser-known gem tucked inside the Grand Canyon. The backpack shown is one I used for a decade in all my travels throughout the world.
  • Peapod Travel Beds:  Could this miniature tent be any cuter?! We used it in Rawley’s newborn portrait session (see next image), along with the North Face Booties (link below), Nathan’s and my hiking boots, and the baptism blanket Rawley’s great-grandmother made him.
Photo credit: Miracle Photography, Oklahoma City

Photo credit: Miracle Photography, Oklahoma City

  • World Map Bulletin Board:  I bought ours at Land of Nod, where it may no longer be available, but I know they are sold elsewhere in various versions. Just look around online. I printed small (2×2 inch) photos on heavy stock photo paper of Nathan and I hiking, biking, and camping around the world, and pinned them to the map. Here is a close-up:

20130117_Family_MountainNursery-1

  • Olli & Lime Billie Collection Linens: Great company with modern, unique, unisex designs and excellent customer service. The crib mobile shown above is also from O&L. We can use these linens for a long time since they don’t look like “baby” linens, or with a future child, regardless of whether it may be a boy or a girl.

I hope this helps provide inspiration for your own travel or mountain themed nursery! Happy adventures to you and your babies!

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Architecture, For Clients, My Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nursery Theme Ideas: Camping, Mountains, and Travel (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Nursery Color Inspiration: Brown and Orange Combo | Petite Lemon Blog

  2. Margaret Smigo says:

    Thank you so much! My husband and I were struggling with a motif for our unisex nursery. It suits us perfectly and I’m now really excited to work on it when I was dreading the process before I came across your post. The vintage look natl’ poster prints are beautiful and I really love your canvas prints of backpacks – we’re going to start looking through our stash of camping photos (nice walk down memory lane too).

    Like

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

