Why We Are Moving, Again (Central Illinois Photographer)

Nathan and I moved from Phoenix to Oklahoma City in December 2010, then from OKC to Cheyenne with Rawley in 2012, then from Cheyenne to Phoenix in March 2013, and now only three months later, we are moving to Normal/Bloomington, Illinois.

The timing of this move is difficult. We both consider Phoenix “home;” I grew up here, and Nathan lived here for most of his 20’s. When we arrived in March, we were so genuinely thankful to be here, thankful we “escaped” a difficult life in Cheyenne and that Nathan’s employer was able to relocate us back to Phoenix. We love the mountains and have a strong circle of supportive family and friends here.

So why are we moving again? Nathan is making somewhat of a career change. He is leaving a company he respects and colleagues he loves, so that he may have shorter days, travel less, and stop moving, in order to spend more time at home with our family. We are deliberately moving towards the life we want, towards how we want to raise our son, with a dad at home more. Nathan’s amazing family lives in Illinois, and he has been away from them since 2004. We’ve spent time as a couple living near “my” people but never his.

I’m looking forward to seeing my husband more, to seeing his relationship with Rawley blossom since they will have more quality time together. I am looking forward to developing my own relationships with the Ambuehls. I know we will have less stress and more life balance. I am relieved that after one more interstate move, we can take a deep breath, and plant some roots, and settle. No more moving-every-year-or-two!

Now that we are in Phoenix, however, leaving is difficult. I love this place and the people here. Plus, I am still recovering from the most difficult year of my life after all we went through with our son. When this job opportunity arose 4 days after arriving in Phoenix, thinking about moving again just about did me in! I was still surrounded with boxes. I was angry at God at first – why would you move us to Phoenix, a place we love, if we were just going to have to leave so quickly? It hurts so much more than if we’d gotten the job offer while we were still in Cheyenne.

Nathan and I wrestled with this choice. It wasn’t easy; in fact, it may be the most difficult decision I’ve ever made. In many ways, it still feels like a leap of faith. For Nathan, it means going home to familiar territory, but this city girl is kind of nervous about small-town life. I sense the generational impact of our choice, knowing that Rawley will now consider Normal-Bloomington is his hometown.

I could go on…  Instead I will just ask you to pray for us. We’ve been through so much in such a short time; it’s taken a toll on my sleep, my face, my spirit, on our marriage, on our families. But there is hope in sight. We just need to power through this next transition, then we can breathe.

For over a year I’ve worked very, very little because I just didn’t have it in me. Our son was too high maintenance, I wasn’t sleeping for more than 1-3 hours at a time until our little preemie was 7 months old, and we moved too often for me to invest the time it requires to establish yourself in a new market over and over again. And, there was always the unpacking. 🙂 But, once we settle in Illinois, I will shoot again. I will get back behind the camera. And I look forward to it! I know that a more peaceful life is just around the corner.

Thanks for cheering us on over the past year. We leave Phoenix July 8. Wish us well! xoxo

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in My Life, My Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why We Are Moving, Again (Central Illinois Photographer)

  1. edillow says:

    Wow!! That’s both crazy and awesome all at the same time. Still happy your path brought you briefly through Cheyenne! Our packers are here today, we’re headed to Louisiana for a year, then another place for a year, then another place for who knows how long… sigh. But the civilian job market is not that great right now so we’re sticking with the paycheck we have!

    Like

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

