This Old House (Phoenix Architectural Photographer)

20130312_BlogPost_ThisOldHouse_Details-6One of the unfortunate aspects of leaving Cheyenne is leaving behind our beautiful, charming, old home in Cheyenne’s Moore Haven Heights Historic District. Before moving to Phoenix, I wanted to record some of the little details that make it such a special place for posterity.

We love this house for many reasons, not the least of which is that it is perfectly suited for our new Greene and Greene Gamble House table replica; additionally, the house boasts carefully crafted molding, ample built-ins, and is paved entirely in hardwood.

20130312_BlogPost_ThisOldHouse_Details-1

20130312_BlogPost_ThisOldHouse_Details-2

Reminiscent of my life in Boston, the house has radiant heat. We love snuggling up against the kitchen radiator and watching each other cook on cold blustery days (of which we’ve had many). When the boiler in the basement sends hot water running through them, the cold, metal radiators creak and groan loudly. So loudly, that we have to warn guests, lest they think the house is haunted or being invaded.

20130312_BlogPost_ThisOldHouse_Details-5(I can hear some of you laughing about a photo of a radiator…but if you are a Phoenix native, and many of my readers are, they are something you only see in books.) 🙂

20130312_BlogPost_ThisOldHouse_Details-4An antique thermostat hangs in the dining room. Usually, guests think it’s on display as art rather than being functional. (It is, in fact, functional.)

20130312_BlogPost_ThisOldHouse_Details-3

We love the glass doorknobs and vintage trim, which also make me wistful for my life in Boston, where they are commonplace.

Dining Room

More than one visitor has remarked that the kitchen cabinet hardware (below, top right) reminds them of their grandparents’ house growing up. (Including me. If you know what I mean, you know what I mean.)

And the coolest little detail of the house?

Kitchen

Nathan and I would never have known the purpose of the little metal-lined, double-doored box next to the side entry (above, left), until my parents visited and exclaimed, “Wow, you have a milk door!” Once upon a time, the milkman left his deliveries inside! I wish that still happened. We just keep Eiger‘s leash inside.

We are so grateful for the opportunity to spend six months inside such a lovely home and in such a lovely neighborhood. Now, we return to Phoenix, where our home isn’t quiiitteee as charming, nestled, as it is, in the land of the stucco suburb. 🙂 But we are grateful nonetheless.

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Architecture, My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Old House (Phoenix Architectural Photographer)

  1. edillow says:

    Lovely! What a great house. I am so very sad to be leaving our gorgeous 1906 National Register of Historic Places brick house at the end of June. It has so many quirks and is also the most favorite place I’ve ever lived. I actually was hoping you had a little longer as I was planning to invite you and everyone over for one last Stranger Lunch here after spring break! Bummer.

    Like

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

