Our 2012 Holiday Card! + 3 Marketing Ideas for New Business Owners (Cheyenne Photographer)

Every year I try to design a creative, eye-catching, funny, personal, unique, and heartfelt holiday card. (And, I am always trying to outdo the prior year’s card!) My goal, since our card goes to family, friends, and business contacts alike, is to make a card that stands out among the dozens of cards everyone receives during the holiday season. And, of course, our card must feature my recent photography.

This year, I ran out of time to work with either of my favorite designers, 4108 Designs or PR Design Firm, who designed our 2011 and 2010 holidays cards, my logo, and wall hangings for Rawley’s nursery. Fortunately, I found a customizable 5×7 folded template on Tiny Prints.

Our 2012 holiday card (pictured below, the front/inside/back):

20121225_Family_ChristmasCard_Front

2012 Holly Baumann Photography Holiday Card: Front Cover

The front of the card featured one of my aerial photographs of Oklahoma City, an iPhone family portrait taken by a family member from when my son was in the NICU, a self-portrait in our new home in Cheyenne, and a night image of the Wyoming Capitol. The inside photo was taken by a family member at Rawley’s baptism in November, and the back cover features one of the photos I took of Rawley in his Halloween costume.

20121225_Family_ChristmasCard_Inside

2012 Holly Baumann Photography Holiday Card: Inside Spread

The quotes in the card are from the first and last lines from the book A Tale of Two Cities.

20121225_Family_ChristmasCard_Back

2012 Holly Baumann Photography Holiday Card: Back Cover

I hope your holiday was filled with joy, and that 2013 brings you only the best of times! Happy new year!

– HBA

*Tips For New Photography Business Owners*

  • Every year, I send the same branded holiday card to family, friends, clients, and other business contacts. Including my branding and contact info allows me to count the mailing as a business marketing expense. Designing and mailing only one card saves time and money! I print labels via mail merge and get both personal and business holiday cards done in one pop.
  • Business recipients include clients, stock buyers, fellow photographers with whom I collaborated or assisted, PR/ad firms, etc.
  • I cull my list annually, and anyone with whom I haven’t corresponded in the prior year falls off the list, which helps keep the mailing affordable and targeted.
About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in For Business Owners, Marketing Ideas, My Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

