Laser Spine Institute Employee Portraits (Oklahoma City Commercial Portrait Photographer)

Recently I had another opportunity to make images for Laser Spine Institute in Oklahoma City. This time, they requested portraits of some key staff members, including surgeons, nurses, physicians’ assistants, and management. They also commissioned a group photo, which I’ll discuss in a future post. For now, here is a sampling of a few of the individual portraits.

For this job, I partnered with Keith Ball, who helped design the set and loaned gear. Keith is an amazing photographer, my ASMP sponsor, and just a good friend. Thank you, Keith.

For these individual portraits of the health care providers, we used a one light setup with a large softbox and reflector, shooting at f/11 and 1/30th – a slower shutter to make sure I picked up the images on the screens behind the subjects (per client’s request).

For the executive portraits below, we set up a main light with the same large softbox and reflector, but this time added a background light with grid. We also staged the area to remove distractions, including reflections on the frame behind the subject.

I shot these at f/8 and 1/60th. All of the portraits in this post were taken with my Nikon D700 and 50mm f/1.4 lens.

Such a fun group of people, and such an interesting and challenging setting in which to shoot. Thank you LSI for the opportunity! More to come in a future post…

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Laser Spine Institute Employee Portraits (Oklahoma City Commercial Portrait Photographer)

  1. Andreas says:

    A lot of things are growing through and off the heads …..

    Like

    • Yes, that’s true! For this assignment, however, the client was very specific about the desired backdrop for the portraits; they wanted it to mirror others done previously in their other markets by other photographers. It’s a unique situation.

      Like

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

