First Christian Church of Tomorrow Exteriors for Renkus-Heinz (Oklahoma City Architectural Photographer)

Part of my assignment for Renkus-Heinz at the well-known “Egg Church” in Oklahoma City, the First Christian Church of Tomorrow, was making exterior images of the building in addition to the interior and product images

Doing so proved somewhat challenging for several reasons. First, on the day I shot inside the building, the weather was gloomy. The washed-out, cloudy sky offered no contrast with the white cement dome of the church, which was the main subject of my images due to the nature of Renkus-Heinz’s work. Therefore, I offered to re-shoot the exteriors on a clearer day, which is when these images were taken.

Secondly, the church is situated on the corner at a busy intersection, and shooting at dusk meant shooting at rush hour. In the image above, you can see that in order to shoot the building from that angle, I had to move across the street, which meant waiting for extremely short breaks in traffic flow. But I couldn’t wait too long, or I’d waste the golden hour! So I had to move quickly and time things perfectly. Additionally, there were electric wires in the camera view from that angle, which I removed in post.

Thirdly, the I wanted to capture the church’s main sign for context in the image above. I waited for the spotlight on the sign to illuminate in order to balance the exposure between foreground and background. Doing so created some white balance challenges in post production.

And finally, composing the images without distracting elements (of which there were many on the property!) and exposing the image with adequate dynamic range without blowing out the main highlight (the roof!) took some care. Overall, I was very happy with the final result and enjoyed the process of finding solutions to these challenges.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on how I could have improved them, or what you would have done in this situation!

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Architecture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

