Travel Guide: Best 4 New England Lobster Spots (Travel Photography)

I once lived in Boston with Amy while I attended grad school. That time was a really rich season of my life; I learned and grew and travelled a lot, and made great, lifelong friends (like Mary Catherine). I still miss New England, and for a long time I’ve been looking forward to an opportunity to show Nathan around to give him a feel for my life there. We finally made it there for a week this September!

There is no place like New England in the fall, and more importantly, no place like New England for good seafood! Travel for us –  as most of you know – revolves around food. So of course, we did some serious lobster research on this trip. Here are our findings.

Best View:  The Lobster Shack at Two Lights

Tucked away on a narrow lane in Cape Elizabeth, ME, this place is perfect for a restful lunch on a nice day. Look at this view! Ah. Just watch out for seagulls. They like lobster, too!

The Lobster Shack at Two Lights, Cape Elizabeth, ME (Nikon D700)

Biggest Lobster Roll:  Red’s Eats

On the main drag in Wiscassett, ME, this famous joint serves more than a whole lobster in each roll! Just bread, lobster, mayo, and butter. Perfection. A bit pricey, but where else in the country can you get a freshly caught whole lobster for $16? Just be ready to stand in line – it took us an hour, but it was 100% worth the wait. Note that they close for the winter on Columbus Day, as this is a walk-up, al fresco dining joint.

Red's Eats, Wiscasset, ME (iPhone 4)

Best Seafood Chowder:  State Street Saloon

During a day trolling around Portsmouth, NH (which is probably the most underrated city in New England), we randomly popped into this local dive sports bar on a Sunday afternoon to watch some football. Thinking about dinner, we asked the locals around us “where’s the best seafood in town?” Without hesitating, they all responded “HERE!” They were right…for less than $10, we devoured an enormous bowl of chunk crab and lobster with some delicious broth tossed over it. Hands down the best seafood chowder I’ve ever been served in my life.

State Street Saloon, Portsmouth, NH (Droid - taken by Nathan)

World’s Biggest Lobster: Main Street, Bar Harbour, ME

We weren’t totally impressed with Bar Harbour (although Acadia National Park is lovely) – it’s pretty touristy,  as evidenced by the lobster friend I made on Main Street, below.

Main Street, Bar Harbour, ME (Droid, Taken by Nathan)

Hopefully you will have the opportunity to enjoy New England someday if you haven’t already! When you do, just pull out this food guide and let me know if you find any other new spots to share! Writing this makes me hungry! Time to go get lunch…

– HBA

P.S. Travel brings new meaning to the Chase Jarvis adage “The best camera is the one you have with you.” This post includes images from my full-frame camera and also our iPhone 4 and Droid. I leave my big gear behind often when I am just enjoying life!

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

