Oklahoma City SMUG: Off Camera Light, In-Studio and On-Location, w/ Okie Studios

This week, the Oklahoma City SMUG met with Bill Richards of Okie Studios (note: PG-13+ link warning :)) at his new studio in Norman, OK. Our goal this time was to practice using off-camera light, both in studio and on-location. Bill generously lugged gear downtown, right on Main Street, and also arranged for a beautiful model and friend, Katie, to join us. Thank you, Bill, Katie, and Anthony Butler, who also helped out! You were awesome and we all learned a lot!

Bill set up the following equipment on-location and had the following to say about this gear:

  • White Lightning 1600 watt / 640ws strobe
  • Small round dish
  • Cactus triggers (Bill doesn’t recommend these)
  • Vagabond II Battery pack (Bill recommends the mini – it’s lighter)

Here are a few of the shots I took of Katie on location with my D700 / 24-70mm f/2.8 using Bill’s setup and triggers.

In the studio, we used the following equipment:

  • Alien Bee 800 watt / 320ws (main light) with large octo softbox (so large that you can shoot right in front of it, and won’t cast a shadow)
  • Alien Bee 400 watt (background light) with honeycomb and barn doors
  • Both lights on about 1/2 power
  • Cactus triggers

I got one image of Katie using available light in the studio:

Compare the difference using Bill’s lighting setup:

And my favorite:

Isn’t she gorgeous? Which is your favorite? Hope to see you at the next SMUG!

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Oklahoma City SMUG, Shooting and Editing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

