Rayna, Class of 2012 (Oklahoma City Senior Portraits)

Meet Rayna, who starts her senior year in Atlanta, GA this fall. On Saturday, we spent time taking her senior portraits in a super-secret location. Rayna is here in OKC for the summer, interning for Holder Construction, the GC building the Devon Tower.

In addition to being smart, thoughtful, a great kickball player (I know, we are on the same WAKA team), soccer player, and really fun, Rayne also has Pantene hair:

Rayna is a really special person. Truly. She’s not sure where she wants to go to college yet, but her dad (proudly) talked about how good she is at the sciences (we need more women like that). And, Rayna said if she could do anything, she would start a non-profit that takes domestic violence survivors from the US on trips to countries like India to provide support to women there. What a VISION! That gave me goosebumps.

Rayna is one of those very positive, respectful people that makes you feel better about the future of the world. I am sure she’s had her struggles in life, but she is always a pleasure to be around, and always so polite. And, she’s a global traveler already! Her stepmom is from Argentina, and her stepdad is from Sweden, so she spends summers sailing in Sweden and has been to Argentina several times. How cool is that?

Rayna and my assistant, Katherine (who rocks!!) taught me about planking (below). Apparently this is what Seniors do. Okay! 🙂

Our session was jam packed with interesting on-location challenges: 1) Shortly before the session, temps were still 100+. To my relief, clouds rolled in, and it cooled off a bit. 2) When we arrived on location, smoke from the grass fires in Edmond rolled in (eek). Fortunately, that cleared in about ten minutes. 3) The sky was so black, we didn’t have much color in the sky (boo), and then, 4) the thunder and lightning began! The photo above was taken in about 2 seconds as we cracked up, then RAN to the car. Just as we left, the skies really opened up and it started pouring!

Through all of this, Rayna (and Katherine) were both such good sports and we just rolled with it, adapting as needed! Needless to say, I don’t think Rayna will forget that night any time soon! 🙂 Fortunately, we still got plenty of gorgeous shots before the rain started.

Thank you, Rayna, for trusting me with this important job. You are lovely, and I know you will do amazing things in life! Thank you to Vince and Ines, her OKC parents, for the opportunity, and for forgiving me for taking your daughter outside during a brewing thunderstorm! And thanks to her Atlanta parents, even though we haven’t met. I am sure all of you are very, very proud of your daughter.

– HBA

P.S. Can I go sailing in Sweden with you?

 

 

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in People. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

