Studio Lighting Tutorial with Shevaun Williams and Associates

Last night, the Oklahoma City SMUG met at Shevaun Williams and Associates‘s studio in Norman, OK, for a studio lighting tutorial. Shevaun is truly an inspirational woman and photographer. Her long career as a commercial, travel, and portrait photographer has survived multiple economic recessions, gender discrimination, and the film-to-digital transition. She is uniquely qualified to talk to us about the importance of constant innovation, re-branding yourself, and lighting expertise in order to separate yourself from the pack and experience longevity. Here she is chatting with us:

Shevaun passed around her printed portfolios (gorgeous) and showed off her very first camera (she now has about 25, including a Hasselblad, Canons and Nikons):

We also had a chance to hear from Shevaun’s husband and VP, Terance Heckart, about the evolution of their studio and what it’s like to be married to a photographer. Vanessa, Shevaun’s assistant, herself a talented photographer, also discussed the pros and cons of a formal photography education, and the value of assisting other photographers.

We spent about an hour with Shevaun going over studio lighting basics and posing techniques.

Shevaun shot tethered so everyone could review the results instantly, and she allowed some of the SMUGgers to shoot, as well, with their own cameras. She also went over some posing techniques, and talked about the importance of knowing your camera so well that it becomes an extension of you, so that you can focus on your rapport with your client.

Such a fun night! We are so, so grateful for the opportunity to see Shevaun’s studio, pick her brain, and see her in action. Thank you, Shevaun. You’ve been officially added to my short list of People I Consider Mentors. I want to be like you when I grow up.

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Oklahoma City SMUG. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

