What Happened Last Night at Photo Slam

Last night I was honored to be among the 12 Oklahoma photographers that presented their work at the second Photo Slam, hosted by the Oklahoma Visual Arts Coalition and the Oklahoma City Museum of Art.

Each Photo Slam participant had 5 minutes to show and discuss their work before an audience of maybe 100 (not sure, but it looked enormous to me). But if we went over 5 minutes, which I did – I blame the slow slide clicker 🙂 – Kelsey and Rory, the hostesses, literally “gonged” us. Hilarious! Here are some images Nathan managed to grab, despite the terrible lighting in the auditorium and no flash. That’s me, top middle.

2011 Photo Slam at OKC Museum of Art

2011 Photo Slam at OKC Museum of Art

My Presentation

I decided to go “back to my roots” so to speak, and highlight my early portfolio favorites from my travels around the world. I wanted to demonstrate that good photography doesn’t necessarily require a “good” camera. I showed my favorite images taken since 1998, taken with:

  • Point-and-shoot 35mm film
  • Canon Rebel 355 film film
  • Nikon D80 borrowed from Mic Waugh when my Canon Rebel was stolen
  • My first DSLR, the Nikon D90 with prosumer lenses like the 18-200mm f/3.5 and 50mm f/1.8
  • Rolleicord Medium Format camera found at an estate sale for about $5
  • iPhone 4

View my presentation here, and view or purchase the works I included in my presentation on my website.

Other Presentations

The other photographers were so, so talented, and I was really honored to be among them. Here are some memorable highlights:

  • iPhone/Hipstomatic photography set to music by Mandy Love
  • Evan Taylor’s “Death of a Witch” Series
  • Gorgeous Oklahoma landscapes by Carl Shortt, Jr.
  • Thoughtful statements from JT Burg and Sherwin Tibayan
  • Chicano Art by Narciso Arguelles
  • Ann Sherman‘s thoughts on missing film after an illustrious digital commercial career

I have been so, so impressed with the arts community here in Oklahoma; incredibly organized, well-supported, and deeply talented. It’s an honor to be welcomed so warmly only 6 months after arriving. If you are on Twitter, check out my OKC Arts Community Twitter List and get to know some of the major players. Like I mentioned in my OKC Travel Guide, don’t underestimate this place! 

Thanks again to jurist Keith Ball, OVAC, and OKC MOA. I had so much fun! Especially once I finished my presentation and the nerves subsided! Thanks also to my other two “fans,” Amy and Ryan, for attending despite missing the first two quarters of the Thunder game. Good friends, indeed. 🙂

If you attended, what were your favorite moments? Share your thoughts below!

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Fine Art & Personal Projects, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

