Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe (Plus, Some Royal Wedding Kitsch)

Last week, I had a little Royal Wedding Watch party. Although people that know me well know that I never need much of an excuse to have a party, I was excited for pretty much the whole month of April about the wedding. It’s impossible to explain why; everyone’s been making fun of me. 🙂  Maybe it’s the fashion, maybe the cars, maybe the European architecture, maybe the hats, maybe my inner-child princess, maybe a fascination with the archaic classism. I dunno. But I watched every minute. 

The was indeed tiny. Meaning, myself and the only other person I know in OKC that cared about the Royal Wedding (and her daughter. Thanks Suzanne!). I don’t know many people in OKC yet, so that was part of the problem; but the three of us had a BLAST!

The advantage of a small party is that it improves the scone-per-person ratio. 🙂  This was my first time making scones, so I was nervous. But look how pretty they turned out:

Scone Tips

  1. Be careful about over-mixing, and over-handling the butter, to get the right texture and taste. Chill the butter a LOT before dicing, and dice immediately after removing from the fridge so it doesn’t warm up.
  2. I substituted whole wheat flour, which worked okay. (Sometimes, that is a disaster, like with Red Velvet Cake).
  3. Use a flexible wedge or pastry scraper to move the triangle shaped pieces from the counter to the baking sheet.
  4. Apply the milk glaze generously; it kind of forms a seal that helps keep the scones fresher longer.
  5. Serve with Double Devon Cream or Clotted Cream (available here in OKC at both Forward Foods and Crescent Market). Apply the cream very, very, generously, and while the scone is still warm. Just cover the whole darn thing. YUM.

I used the following Epicurious recipe:

Ingredients
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) chilled unsalted butter, diced
  • 1 teaspoon (packed) grated lemon peel
  • 3/4 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup chilled buttermilk
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Milk (for glaze)

Prep
Butter and flour baking sheet. Sift 2 cups flour, 1/3 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt into large bowl. Add butter and lemon peel; rub in with fingertips until butter is reduced to size of rice grains. Mix in chocolate chips. Whisk buttermilk, egg yolk and vanilla in small bowl to blend. Add buttermilk mixture to dry ingredients; mix until dough comes together in moist clumps. Gather dough into ball. Press dough out on lightly floured surface to 8-inch round; cut round into 6 wedges. Transfer wedges to prepared baking sheet, spacing 1 inch apart. (Can be prepared 1 day ahead. Cover and refrigerate.) Preheat oven to 400°. Brush scones lightly with milk; sprinkle with remaining 2 tablespoons sugar. Bake until scones are crusty on top and tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Serve warm.

Did I mention that my lucky guests got door prizes, including a solar powered waving queen, knockoff rings, and the choice of either Kate or Will tea bags? 
Sorry you didn’t attend yet? I think so. 😉 I got the plates and party supplies from my favorite online party store, Plum Party. Check them out sometime! They have the most random, fun stuff for theme parties!

Make some scones this weekend, and watch the rerun of the wedding with your mom on Mother’s Day. You know you DVRed it! Admit it! 😉

Signing off with a royal wave, from the wrist. Really, I am, if you could see me. 

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe (Plus, Some Royal Wedding Kitsch)

  1. Shirley says:

    Wow! Just the note I needed to read – where to buy clotted cream in OKC. I’m giving a Downton Abbey party and wanted to have the cream. After scouring recipes, I decided that was not going to work for me (I’m not a “Daisy”). Somehow, I stumbled upon your post. Ureka!!! I called the Crescent Market (think it must be out of business). Was ecstatic to talk with Susie at the Forward Market in Norman. Put some of Devon’s on hold and plan to go get tomorrow. Thank you so very, very much. Best of business to you and happy holidays.

    Like

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

