Herschel and Barb, Heartland Sweethearts for 60 Years

Herschel and Barb live in Farina, IL, the tight-knit farming community where they were raised. Until 8th grade, Barb went to school in this schoolhouse, which still stands:

Barb met Herschel, a “city boy,” during his breaks from his work as a trucker when he came into the diner where she worked. (She thought it was strange that he’d order coconut creme pie with 2 scoops of ice cream at 10:00 am.) Eventually Herschel asked her out, and their first date was to “see a show” (movie) in Salem, a town nearby. 

Three months later, on April 22, 1951, Herschel and Barb were married at the Farina United Methodist Church, which they still attend:

On Saturday, April 23, 2011, over 100 of Barb & Herschel’s friends and family gathered to celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary – in the same church in which they were married. 


In 60 years, Barb and Herschel’s union has produced over 50 descendants, beginning with their four children, Dennis, Patty, Sharon, and Janice, and almost twenty grandchildren, one of which is my husband.

The party had so many loving touches from family and friends, including photo displays for guests to enjoy. Their wedding photo is visible below left!


Alissa, my sister-in-law, spent hours making their 60th Anniversary sign, and a local friend made the cake. 




60 years. Wow! Almost two of my lifetimes. Just imagine what Herschel and Barb have experienced together, how the world has changed before their eyes, and they joy they feel in a room filled with their children, grand-children, great-grandchildren, and friends, some of whom have known them all those 60 years. 

Nathan and I couldn’t be happier that we were able to make the drive to Farina for the anniversary celebration, and couldn’t be more thankful for such a remarkable example of commitment, trust, and love between two people. We are still becoming an “us,” but how time flies. Soon, we will be looking back on many years together, and God willing, I hope it’s at least 60. 

Barb and Herschel, I love you, very much, although I’ve only known you a relatively short time (not even three of your 60 years together!). Thank you for accepting me so warmly into your family, for loving each other and therefore, giving me Nathan. 🙂

 – Holly

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Herschel and Barb, Heartland Sweethearts for 60 Years

  1. >Reading this brought tears to my eyes! I especially love the part about the coconut pie and ice cream in the morning! And I couldn't agree with you more, that Grandma and Grandpa really are a great example of commitment, trust and love. Definitely something I hope we all still have with our spouses 60 years from now. It was great to see you and Nate and I'm so glad you were able to capture the event with such beautiful pictures.

    Like

  2. >Very nice Holly! We were really happy that you and Nathan made the trip to Farina for the weekend's events. Love

    Like

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

