Pancakes From Scratch Recipe

>My blogs about food are always popular, and it’s been a while since I’ve written one, so I thought I’d share a trademark recipe, just in time for your weekend brunch.


I learned to cook from scratch when I lived in RomaniaIn contrast to the US, in much of the world, there are few prepared foods available. In Romania, small neighborhood markets and produce stands provided for daily shopping needs, and were stocked with fresh produce from nearby farms. Romanian food is a delicious blend of Eastern European and Mediterranean influences, always served with loads of freshly baked bread. I loved the local cuisine, but did periodically miss certain foods from home. For example, Mexican food, which I could eat every day for the rest of my life, was difficult to replicate because certain key ingredients just weren’t available (like cumin and cilantro). Common US staples like peanut butter were unheard of in Romania; the only way to get any was to ask short-term US volunteers bring a jar of it in their suitcase. Thus, cooking familiar dishes required creativity and resourcefulness, especially in the winter when less fresh produce was available (mostly onions, potatoes, parsley, and peppers). 


However, certain US favorites were easily reproduced with locally available ingredients, so we made them frequently, such as pancakes. I adapted a recipe from the first cookbook I ever owned, Help! My Apartment Has A Kitchen! by using whole-wheat flour and adding wheat germ and oatmeal. I made it so often that I memorized the recipe. Since then, it’s continued to be a go-to for brunch, and over time, my family and friends have started requesting it when they visit. 

These pancakes are filling, healthy, and full of fiber. They don’t always look pretty, but maybe that’s just because I need to work on my pouring and flipping technique. đŸ˜‰


My Pancake Recipe

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 Tblsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup oatmeal
  • 3 Tblsp wheat germ

Combine dry ingredients, then add:

  • 1 cup milk (plus a bit more, if batter is too thick – according to preference)
  • 2 Tblsp butter, melted (I only allow real butter in my house, no margarine!)
  • 1 egg



Mix until combined, no worries about lumps. Pour into a previously-heated pan. Optional: Drop blueberries, chocolate chips, and/or sliced bananas on each pancake once just before flipping. For toppings, add almond butter (instead of peanut butter), Nutella, and/or Williams Sonoma’s Butter Pecan Spread (sadly I don’t think this is available anymore). Use 100% pure Maple Syrup – no exceptions! I won’t even allow that other imitation crap in my kitchen. đŸ™‚ Serve with fresh fruit and peppered turkey bacon or sausage.


Happy weekend brunch!


– HBA



About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

