What Happened at the 1st Oklahoma City SMUG

Last night was the first Oklahoma SMUG! 29 photographers showed up! It was standing room only! (Tip to other SMUG leaders: I think the Chick-fil-a party platters and beer may have been the key.) 🙂

When we started planning the OKC SMUG, we weren’t sure how many people would attend the first meeting, so we thought meeting at Nathan’s and my home would provide plenty of space. But after last night, I think we need to find a new location soon! 🙂 People were sitting on the stairs, standing, and squeezed in every corner. Thanks for being such great sports, guys!

We heard from James Beltz about how to create a website that is inviting and informative for potential clients, in order to avoid the 92%-bounce-within-10-seconds phenomenon. Jimmy also talked about how tiered pricing helps grow your profit margin.

We had a blast, and a great discussion with each other and Jimmy. We gave stuff away, too, like SmugMug Pro camera straps, Bay Photo gift certificates, and a free year on SmugMug. Jimmy also gave away a free website customization and a free pack of Photoshop actions to everyone that attended. Thanks Jimmy! 

Watch James’ entire presentation here on Vimeo:


OKC SMUG Guest Speaker: James Beltz from Holly Baumann Ambuehl on Vimeo.

If you want to participate in the OKC SMUG, it’s totally free, and anyone is welcome. Please visit our Meetup page and Facebook page for more information. 

See ya next month! We have more stuff to give away!

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Oklahoma City SMUG. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

