Emery

Last weekend, I had the super-fun job of preserving images of Emery’s 1st birthday party at Anthem Community Park. Emery’s Aunt, Jessica, is an old friend, colleague, former client, and more recently, an assistant to Holly Baumann Photography. (She rocks.) Just like the session with Jess’s family, on Emery’s day, the sky threatened rain, but somehow we staved off the downpour until after her amazing party! Hurray! And what a party! 

Train parks always guarantee great photos, so I was in photographer heaven. While her guests cruised around the park, Emery, all tuckered out from no nap, snoozed in her grandmother’s arms.

Not only was there a train, but there was also a bouncy house! Again, fun photos guaranteed! (Remember the inflatable slide at the last birthday party I covered?) What brings children more universal joy than a padded room to bounce in?  

Sadie, Emery’s cousin, is the-life-of-party-type already at her young age, and that HAIR! (I think she’s becoming my muse.)

Another party highlight: Muno, from the show Yo Gabba Gabba, actually attended the party! And, being a good sport, he actually got in the bouncy house with the kids! (Okay, I don’t have children, so I had absolutely no clue who Muno was and had never even heard of this show. But the kids apparently love it. They were having very serious conversations with Muno at the party about whether he was really the Muno from the TV show or not. The jury’s still out.)

The party had many sweet moments, like these:

Time for cake! Emery’s talented mommy, Hollie, made all of the themed cupcakes, and Emery’s cake, herself! Amazing!

And the moment everyone waits for at any first birthday party! Emery, well, she wasn’t too sure about the whole thing, even though Muno tried to coax her into eating it. 

The other guests loved it, though! Yum yum!

Of course, there were presents, piles of presents. Why is it that you get the most presents at the age when you care the least about them? Can someone explain this mystery to me? But how fun to watch, and look at all the pretty pretty packages!

Sadie “helped” Hollie open the presents. Isn’t Hollie such a pretty mom? Here’s some shots of her and Emery, and Emery’s dad Derek. 

Emery is a well loved little girl; her family on both sides came from all over to be at her birthday celebration. 

A big, loving family to delight in Emery as she grows up. 

Lucky girl! Happy birthday, Emery! And thanks Jess, and everyone, for the opportunity to be a part of this special day. 

– HBA

P.S.  Watch Emery’s Slideshow!


About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in People. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

