Monica, Marissa and McKenna (Daddy’s Girls Portrait Session)

Yesterday I had the opportunity to spend a few hours with the Schoenhal family at their beautiful home. The Schoenhals have five children – two of which are twin boys (which I **love** since Nathan and I have twin boy nephews). For this family session, though, instead of trying to get everyone in front of the camera, Monica wanted portraits of herself with her two daughters, Marissa (5 years) and McKenna (1 year). So we had a “daddy’s girl” session –  a belated Valentine for her husband. Isn’t that a sweet idea? Of course, it was all bows and pink and pretty and smiles and happiness. McKenna turned one in January, and Marissa turned five a couple of weeks ago. Here’s McKenna:

And, below is Marissa! It was really windy outside – but warm – so we just rolled with it! The wind made for some good hair blowing. 🙂 Check out this little model!

I was amazed at Monica’s gentle and patient nature with her children. A busy house, but absolutely full of love. Monica was relaxed and patient with me, too, when I squeezed in a few last moments with Marissa on the trampoline before she dashed off to school. How fun are these shots? Seriously, it was hard not to get up there with her. 

By the way, Marissa is AWE.SOME. on the tramp! She can totally do a flip, backwards and forwards – in a dress! 😉 Go, girlfriend! 

When I spoke with Monica on the phone before our time together, she said “I can’t believe my baby turned one!” I am sure the baby out of five holds a special place in a momma’s heart! We made sure to capture some sweet moments with just these two after Marissa went to school.

I love the image showing McKenna’s newborn portrait on the wall behind them while they snuggled:

I had so much fun with these ladies! Thank you, Monica, for trusting me with this precious time in your family! I hope you’ll cherish these moments with your baby girls for years to come. 

– HBA

View the slideshow from this session here!

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in People. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

