What I Learned About Business Planning From A Garage Full of Moving Boxes

I tend to get a little overwhelmed sometimes when there’s a lot to do. I shift into avoidance mode, telling myself, “I perform better under pressure” (meaning, I won’t do it until my procrastination is about to cause a crisis). I see the forest and miss the trees. I live in the future instead of the now. I dwell on the what-ifs. 

Do you relate to that? 

Sometimes, the way I feel about my business development is a lot like how I felt when I saw this pile in our garage after we unpacked the last moving box: “I will never get all of that done.”

Progress feels sooo incremental sometimes. I want everything to just be done! Poof! But, the only way to get that pile out of our garage was to tackle one box and one piece of paper at a time. Nathan is much more patient, much better at focusing on the “now” instead of all the possible outcomes of the future. This is part of what makes us a good team. He helps me remember to disrupt the stress periodically to have fun…for example, by diving into a pile of moving paper like a 5 year old jumping into leaves. 🙂 


In my paper folding moments of zen, I told myself over and over again that making this photography business a viable full-time endeavor requires the same diligence. I have to take one item on my to-do list, one phone call, one website improvement, one book chapter, one coffee meeting, one day at a time. Slow and steady, one foot in front of the other. With a lot of hard work and patience, things start getting checked off the to-do list. 

And then, one day, after hours upon hours of folding paper, breaking down boxes, and running car-fulls of paper to recycle dumpsters, our insurmountable pile looked like this:

Shortly after that, we found someone that needed our boxes and they were picked up. I organized our remaining stuff, and mere hours before the first snowstorm hit, I rolled my Subie into the garage. 

Like our garage, I’ll make progress every day towards my dream if I just keep on plugging away. I can’t wait to look back later this year and bask in the results!

This post is dedicated to all you remodeling nerds that made my House Before and After and Garage Makeover posts so wildly popular. 🙂  And also, to all of you out there, like me, that are plodding through enormous challenges one day at a time. We’ll get there! Slow and steady wins the race. Let me know how you are doing! 

– HBA

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Before and After Images, My Life, My Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Learned About Business Planning From A Garage Full of Moving Boxes

  1. >Hi friends,I loved all of these posts. A lot of these things we have, but I got some really great ideas.Business Plans Samples

    Like

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

