Scott, Mary, Daniel, and Chris (Family Portraits)

This week, I had the honor of spending some time with the gorgeous Whitson family: Daniel, Chris, Mary, and Scott…and of course, Murphy the dog (from left to right, above). Mary wanted to capture some images of the four of them together, before Daniel, a recent OU grad, sets off to Colorado (sniffle) to begin his new job. Mary told me that the last time they took any professional photos was rightttt before Daniel got braces…and now here he is, a grown man, moving away to start a new life in Denver. (Oh, Colorado. Who’s just a weeee bit jealous of Daniel? Me, that’s who.)

Their home provided some gorgeous backdrops for us, and the weather held up! Hurrah! (We looked at the options… and put our bets on a on a warm-ish day with 60% chance of rain, in between two sunny but frigid days. It’s all about the lesser of two evils for winter photography! Checking weather forecasts is a new phenomenon for this former Phoenix Photographer!)

I loved the warm light showing through the windows in these front porch shots. And I love, love, love red brick, so I tried to incorporate that as much as possible. Seriously, if I ever get to build my dream house, it will be all red brick, craftsman wood trim, ivy, wood floors…

Yes, you may be men in your twenties, but your parents are still going to want photos of their babies together! So, for these images of just Daniel and Chris…we tried to find poses that didn’t make them look like a couple. 🙂 Whaddya think?

I set the Whitsons up for this next pose, not knowing that one of the framed images from that pre-braces photo session I mentioned earlier is juuuust like this! Cool, huh? I guess the photography gods were whispering in my ear. How fun will this photo be right next to the old one? Love it! (Despite the brown winter grass.)

Once we lost daylight and the temp started dropping, we entered red-nose-danger-time, so we moved inside. These turned out to be some of my favorites; I love the fatherly, protective feel of Scott in the background with his arms around his adult sons. And sweet little Mary in the front. Mary and her men. 🙂

Mary is so beautiful, isn’t she?

It’s a great honor when a family entrusts me to capture such an important time in their lives. This transition is bittersweet for Daniel’s parents, while at the same time being so exciting for Daniel! I know he has great things ahead of him. Chris isn’t far behind his older step-brother; soon he will likewise graduate from OU and begin his new life. As we wrapped the session, Mary said, “I just keep thinking, they grow up so fast…” Time does fly by, doesn’t it? Mary and Scott, I hope you treasure these images, and treasure each day of life together.

Wishing Daniel much success, and good skiing, in Colorado! Safe travels, all.

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in People. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

