Jon, Jess, Elijah and Sadie (Family Portraits)

Meet the Lewis Family. If these photos don’t make you want to relive childhood, I don’t know what will!

I met the Lewis’s at their home on Sunday – you know, the day it was pouring rain? The photography gods were with us…we considered postponing the shoot, but decided to forge ahead. Annnndddd, could it have been better? I mean seriously, how many family shoots include rainbows?

We did spend a decent chunk of time inside playing, since it was chilly. I’m so glad; I mean, seriously, just look at this jumping-on-the-bed joy!

What’s better than cuddle time on mom and dad’s bed?

I adore this series of images; the intimacy, the graininess. I’m trying to be less technically perfect these days, experiment more, and let moments like this happen without trying to polish them too much. I think I may have actually had a tear or two editing these; I know I definitely laughed. 

Jess and Jon are the kind of parents that just let their kids be. I love that. These kids are fully alive, fully loved.

Man, trying on dad’s glasses is about the funniest thing in the world, apparently!

We did play outside for a long time, and boy, did we PLAY!! Look at this sweet little Sadie – at one point, she exclaimed, “You came to play AND take pictures!!”

Elijah’s a thinker but, like Sadie, never stops moving…

Man-oh-man, look at this Sass-a-frass. Jess and Jon, you guys are in TROUBLE with this little lady in a few years!

Sadie photographs like a model. I just couldn’t get enough of her expressiveness. I mean seriously, have you ever seen a face this this on a four year old before? 

Sadie rocked her rain boots for most of the shoot, which of course I loved much more than any boring regular shoes!

Best bonus of a rainy-day photo shoot: PUDDLE JUMPING! P.S. I am obsessed with Sadie’s hair.

These kiddos are so lucky to have hip, young, super-energetic parents that play, play, play, with them. 

I had so much fun on this shoot! Lewis’s, thanks for the honor and for being such rock stars to photograph! I hope you cherish these memories of your children in the throes of childhood. 

Keep that spirit alive!

– HBA

P. S. Watch their slideshow!

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in People. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

