Europe Trip #1: Kulmbach

My grandfather, George Frederick Baumann, immigrated from Germany to the US as a young man. His hometown was Kulmbach, a very old, small town in central Germany – with a large brewery and a castle on the hill (the “Plassenburg”). My uncle, George’s namesake, and my dad’s first cousin, Monika and her husband Werner, still live in Kulmbach. I’ve been to Kulmbach four times; it’s a familiar place to me now. On this most recent trip, I wanted to see the town with fresh eyes through my lens.

The Streets of Kulmbach

My Grandfather’s Church

The Plassenburg

The View From the Plassenburg

The Town Hall (in German, “Rathaus”)

Kulmbach is worth a visit if you are ever nearby. Tour the brewery, and have a Dunkel Weisen at the Kulmbach Kommonbrau.

– HBA

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Fine Art & Personal Projects, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Europe Trip #1: Kulmbach

  1. Leila Dippold says:

    What memories these pictures bring! I believe our first trip to Kulmbach was in 1986. Then, several of the Dippolds decided they wanted to visit the town and Eggenreuth also, so Ann Schultetus arranged a tour of Bavaria and Europe for us. I think maybe 15 to 20 people went. We had a “Kaffee” on the Wehrfritz upper patio, and it was a delightful time.

    I still correspond with Rosie and her family. The white house is fairly new – only being built when we were there the last time. Actually, Oscar and I were there three times, and I went back a fourth. The “Dippold” tour I believe was sometime near ’88 or ’90. Thank you for the street scenes, also.

    I did want to tell you that the old Dippold house was not as it was when our family lived there. Rosie told me it had been remodled quite a few years before.

    Thanks again, Leila

    Like

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

