NOLA #5: Streets of New Orleans

NOLA has many famous streets, and unique street signage. Traces of Mardi Gras are dotted around the city…look up every now and then and you’ll find beads.

Bourbon Street

Proof that I was actually in NOLA – a photo of me! Above bottom left. With dear friends MC and Ryann.

Canal Street

It’s hard to comprehend that Canal Street was under 4 feet of water after Hurricane Katrina.

Frenchman Street

While shooting here, I spoke with the people pictured below on the bench. They asked me what I was doing and who I worked for…later when I mentioned this to MC, she said that it’s this time of year that the city starts crawling with reporters as the Katrina anniversary approaches. So, I imagine these two thought I was someone much more important than I am. 🙂

When I was chatting with them, the guy told me to take a photo of the mural (above right). He explained that it was done by a local artist, and that while he was painting it, he actually LIVED up on scaffolds next to the wall until it was done. To protect his work, I guess? They said they haven’t seen him “since the storm” (locals tend to refer to Katrina as The Storm) so he either didn’t survive, or left and never came back.
I love this photo, also from Frenchman Street:

If you aren’t convinced to visit NOLA yet, I haven’t done my job. The city is full of color and diversity and music and food and art. When you go, make sure to send me a link to your photos! I hope you’ve enjoyed the NOLA series – I’d love your feedback.

Happy travels

– HBA

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

