NOLA #3: Out and About

I was in NOLA long enough to go ALL over the city. There was lots of walking…

…and bike riding. MC loaned me her bike, and I MacGyvered our GPS onto the bike’s handlebars with a bungie cord.

I spent three days exploring with MC and Ryann, and three days on my own. I stayed at MC and David’s’s house, which is on the west bank (Algier’s Point). To get into the heart of NOLA (French Quarter, etc.), I had to take the ferry across the Mighty Mississippi. The GPS was so smart, it even knew to tell me to ride my bike onto the ferry (see above, bottom left)! Crossing the river was fascinating every time. NOLA is a major port, and there were huge ships constantly making runs on the river.

I even saw the same one coming and going on two different trips!

People can either drive, walk, or ride bikes onto the ferry. There were always people commuting on motorcycles and scooters, too. It made me want to buy a Vespa. 🙂

You can see the dock at Algier’s Point in the photos above. One day I borrowed MC’s car and so I go to experience driving on and off the ferry.

I think my camera made this ferry staff nervous. 🙂 Photographing infrastructure, and all. Very suspect. Certain things are ubiquitous in NOLA, like interesting architecture (check out the doors to nowhere on the second floor, top right!):

And a certain type of house, known as “shotgun.”

Basically, shotgun houses are long and narrow, and almost always, colorful! That’s MC and David’s shotgun above on the bottom right. Cute, huh? (Note: It still has buckshot damage on the porch columns, from incidents during Katrina. Crazy. For more shots of Katrina after 5 years, and the impact of the BP oil spill, visit this post.)

I know that doors and windows are about the least original thing to shoot in a European flavored city, but I just couldn’t help myself. I mean, seriously! Look at these colors:

NOLA has the most beautiful, romantic, towering, old trees (live oaks). They are actually registered, and protected! Buildings must go up AROUND them, which is so wise, because they add so much to the character of the city. See the haze in these photos? It’s literally from the humidity. I had this problem a lot in NOLA-my UV filter would actually steam up!

Another frequent sight: the Fleur de Lis.

NOLA also has raised fire hydrants.

I managed to squeeze in a visit to the New Orleans Museum of Art (NOMA) – which required a long bike ride down Esplanade, and gorgeous divided boulevard lined with live oaks and beautiful homes. The museum includes works by Renoir, Degas, Picasso, Chagall, Manet, O’Keefe, and of course, local photographers.

I also took a trip up and down Canal Street on the streetcar to get to the City Cemetery, which I will highlight in an individual upcoming post. I jumped off at one point to grab a photo of this sign, and I am glad I did.

– HBA

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

