Finn (2 Year Old Birthday Party and Portraits)

This weekend I got to go to like the coolest birthday party EVER. Finn turned two, and Payton turned three. Their families joined forces to throw a joint birthday bash, and check out the results! Warning: this party will make you want to relive your childhood big time!!

Finn’s family is special to me; I was at her parent’s wedding and I used to work with her mom, Dawn. 

They just moved into a new house in my old neighborhood, too, near Butler Park in Central Phoenix. So it was SO FUN to see the new place, and see how much Finn has grown. She has a cool new ladybug room in her new house, PLUS an awesome playroom! Check out some of the details. I’ve photographed their family before and they hung up some of my work in their new digs (top right).

Here’s Finn, in all her glorious two-ness, showing off her knowledge of body parts. “Where’s your belly button? Your nose? Your teeth?” (This game makes for great pics!)

Finn and Payton’s party was water-slide themed! Cool theme for kids, not so easy for a photographer (Sun + Water + Friends + Blazing Heat + No Clouds = Distracted Kids That Don’t Want to Take Photos, Risk of Blown Out Pics, Photographer Dodging Water to Protect Gear). I did my best to work around these challenges!

Commence water slide action. This ain’t no Slip ‘n Slide!

Seriously, can you believe how cool these slides are?

Lots of Finn and Payton’s friends were there – what a cute bunch, huh? Payton, the other birthday girl, is on the bottom left. 

I caught this sweet moment when shy little Nora was peeking through a hole in one of the little slides. I love the feeling of knowing I’ve snagged an amazing photo…that’s how I felt about this one on the left. Look at those eyes!

There were also TATTOOS:

And snowcones:

And no summer party is complete without watermelon:

Finn’s birthday cake was the most amazing birthday cake in the history of birthday cakes. One of Dawn’s friends made it for the party. Check out how the cake matches the invitations and the slide theme! Have you ever seen anything so cute? Payton’s cake was awesome, too, replete with a tiara (bottom left)!

Dawn, Andy, and Finn (and friends and family), thank you for inviting me to your birthday party. You did an AMAZING job! It was so fun. Lots of love and I wish Finn the BEST for her third year of life! xoxoxo – HBA

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in People. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

