Dinner Last Night: Sea Bass with Chopped Salad and Summer Squash

The two recipes below make for a fantastic summer meal, but are very labor intensive – especially the salad. BUT – Nathan said this was “the best salad I’ve had in a long time.” I worked so hard, and it all looked so good, that I busted out the china! But we actually do that a lot. Why not? 

Summer Chopped Salad with Quick-Pickled Vegetables

  • Source: Food and Wine
  • My Substitutions: 1) Green pepper instead of yellow and 2) Mixed Green salad instead of the frisee/arugula/cabbage combo. In both cases, swapped them out cuz that’s what we already had in the fridge-and that’s how I roll.

Roasted Sea Bass with Summer Squash

  • Source: Food and Wine
  • My Substitutions: 1) Tilapia instead of sea bass or snapper, but only because the grocery store didn’t have either of those (wha???) and 2) I use de-boned/skinned fish instead of whole (Gross. Last time I checked, I didn’t know how to de-scale a fish. Ew. I have my limits).

About Holly Baumann Photography

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, a commercial and portrait photographer based in Central Illinois. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

