Historic State Capital Building in Arizona (Architectural Photography)

I was commissioned by a client to capture both color and black and white architectural images of Arizona’s Old Capital Building, during both day and night. This building now houses a museum and some other non-legislative offices, but once housed the Governor and Legislature. These and other images from this commission are available for purchase as stock on my website.

Shooting around a busy complex like the Arizona Capital presented quite a few challenges, including 1) not having a lift to gain the best perspective, 2) eliminating distracting elements (i.e. lobbyists, staff, and elected officials walking around), 3) cropping shots to avoid having the much less attractive Senate and House buildings in the frame, 4) finding a somewhat cloudy day on which to shoot (a rarity in Arizona), and 5) discovering that the beautiful copper dome is never lit at night (budget cuts?). Fortunately, the grounds are maintained well, so unlike most Arizona lawns, I actually had green grass to work with!

Arizona turns 100 years old on Valentine’s Day, 2012! Pay her a visit to say Happy Birthday. She’s beautiful…and not as crazy as she sometimes seems in the headlines. 😉

– HBA

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Architecture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Historic State Capital Building in Arizona (Architectural Photography)

  1. Anonymous says:

    >AWESOME these are quite possibly some of my favorites of all time. Especially the first. Great job Holly! Your hard work and education are really showing in your photographs! All the hard work must be worth it 🙂 Sooze

    Like

  2. Robin Cotto says:

    >These are GREAT Holly!!

    Like

  3. Heather Kau says:

    >These are really cool, Hols- I haven't been down there in a long time. And I can't believe you got pics without people wandering around! Good job 🙂

    Like

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?

