New Staley Credit Union Branch in Decatur IL (Interiors / Exteriors / Central Illinois Architectural Photographer)

Recently, I was hired by the LaMacchia Group to make interior and exterior images of their new design for Staley Credit Union in Decatur, IL.

20140821_BlogPost_LaMacchiaGroup_StaleyCreditUnion-5

While a truly beautiful design for a bank (all that wood and natural light!), this proved to be one of the most difficult spaces I’ve ever photographed. The interior colors, which I loved (the same we used in our son’s nursery in Phoenix :)), cast an orange glow, while all of the windows and surrounding grass cast a green glow.

20140821_BlogPost_LaMacchiaGroup_StaleyCreditUnion-1

In addition to the color issues, all of those gorgeous windows also made it more difficult to achieve adequate dynamic range in both the interior areas and the visible exterior scenes.

20140821_BlogPost_LaMacchiaGroup_StaleyCreditUnion-2 Further, the branch was already open for business, so I had to do some relatively extensive staging to remove distracting elements, and also shoot in between the flow of customers in and out of the bank lobby.

20140821_BlogPost_LaMacchiaGroup_StaleyCreditUnion-3

The bank was also giving away items to new members to promote their new branch opening. Giveaways included both bank-branded items (shown on the console below) and another brand’s product, so I removed the stacks of the other brand’s product from the lobby.

20140821_BlogPost_LaMacchiaGroup_StaleyCreditUnion-4At dusk, I worked quickly to shoot around the building, which was bordered closely on all sides by busy roads, traffic signals, other retail space, and lots of poles and wires. In this case, my client opted to remove such elements themselves, to recognize some savings. (I am finding that is more and more common lately, since so many designers have post-production experts in-house.)

20140821_BlogPost_LaMacchiaGroup_StaleyCreditUnion-6

As always, I am so grateful for the opportunity to work on this project! Thank you to the folks at LaMacchia Group for the opportunity to serve you and stretch my skills in new ways.

– HBA

About Mosaic Collective, LLC

I am Holly Baumann Ambuehl, founding member of Mosaic Collective, LLC, which was founded in early 2017 and is based in Central Illinois. I own and operate Mosaic Collective with my partner in business and life, my husband, Nathan. Mosaic Collective, LLC houses our rental property, my consulting contracts (with the nonprofit and public sectors on various work), and also my commercial and portrait photography business, which has been doing business as Holly Baumann Photography since 2008 long before the formation of our LLC. My blog posts feature client work, but I just love to write, so I also write about owning a business, food and drink, travel, and sometimes, my personal life! I am always honored when clients trust me to capture their vision, and equally so when my readers converse with me about what I've photographed or expressed here. I hope we'll have an opportunity to collaborate professionally and/or become friends. I'd love to hear what you think! - Holly
This entry was posted in Architecture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for reading! What are you thinking?